Classification

Age groups

Age Calculation

The age taken into consideration will be the age as of January 1st of the year of competition in which the dancer participates. For groups, age is determined by the average age of the dancers in the group. Example : Average age of dancers in a group 12.51 = 12 years old and 13.49 =13 years old

  • 6-9 years old
  • 10-12 years old
  • 13-15 years old
  • 16-19 years old
  • 20-29 years old
  • 30+ years old

*Age groups subject to redivision in order to provide an equitable competitive environment.

Types of groups

  • Solo 1 person
  • Duo/trio 2/3 people
  • Small group 4 to 9 people
  • Large group 10 to 15 people
  • Production 16 people and more

*A single group (solo/duo/trio/small and large group) is allowed to enter only one number per category. To perform in the same category, a group must include a minimum of 50% of new dancers.

Duration of the choreographies

  • Solo: 1 person - 3 minutes
  • Duo/trio: 2/3 people - 3 minutes
  • Small group: 4 to 9 people - 4 minutes
  • Large group: 10 to 15 people - 4 minutes
  • Production: 16+ people - 8 minutes

*A difference of 5 seconds will be tolerated. The duration of each choreography will be controlled and verified. Deductions from the score will be applied in case of non-conformity.

Levels

Please note that these levels are only an estimate. Each individual's progression is different and we trust the coach's judgment. The Reunion is committed to the healthy development of each dancer. With this in mind, we expect each participant to be in a category where he or she will need to progress.

  • Novice: 1 to 2 years of competitive training
  • Pre-competitive: 3 to 4 years of competitive training
  • Competitive: 5 to 6 years of competitive training
  • Elite: 7 years and over or living off their art

 

Styles

Contemporary: This style is defined by its integration of gravity, fall and suspension, contraction and release, balance and imbalance, different dynamics and qualities of movement, and an awareness of body weight, all in a freer and more organic style that explores a concept, story, emotion or intention.

Ballet: This style is defined by its classical technique, purity of line and precision of movement. Choreography can be performed on pointe or demi-pointe.

Lyrical: This style is a mixture of classical ballet and jazz techniques. The movements are smooth and controlled and support the lyrics of the music with a well defined interpretation.

Acro: This style remains a dance choreography but it includes several acrobatic elements inspired by gymnastics.

Jazz (Jazz, Street Jazz, Funky Jazz, Broadway Jazz…): Jazz dance combines the techniques of classical ballet and modern dance with current popular dance forms. Jazz also has its own vocabulary of movements, ranging from the isolation of certain parts of the body to the movement of the whole body, with the accents of musical rhythms. Jazz dance can take on many different characteristics and styles, including street jazz, percussive, Broadway, contemporary and lyrical. Emphasis is placed on the importance of energy, rhythmic precision and style.

Folk Dances/World Dances: Folk dances are based on traditional dances from here and abroad such as; Irish dance, jig, tap, belly dance, African dance, etc.

Street: this style is defined by the integration of techniques from one or more of the following dances: hip hop, breakdance, house, waacking, popping, locking, krump, voguing, stepping, dancehall, etc.

Commercial: this style of dance is inspired by several other styles and is a combination of choreographer's signature, energy and performance.

Ballroom: this style is an integration of techniques from one or more of the following dances: cha cha, rumba, samba, mambo, salsa, merengue, bachata, paso doble, jive, triple-swing, west coast swing, swing, Argentine tango, slow waltz, quick step, Viennese waltz, foxtrot, tango and hustle.

Championship: the championship is a category open to all, all styles, and is held in three rounds. Ten acts will be selected to take part in the championship (3 novice, 3 pre-competitive, 3 competitive and 1 professional) by random draw one month before the event. Solos are not allowed.

The 2 finalists will have to face each other in a "freestyle" battle. The choreography presented can change with each round, but it is also possible to keep the same choreography. The jury will be made up of different people for each round.

Improv: this category is reserved for dancers who want to show their personality through dance in a spontaneous way. Let's go back to the basics of dance: being inspired by music to create. Regardless of dance style, dancers will be assigned a piece of music when they enter the stage and will have to improvise for about 1 minute 30 seconds.

Fusion (minimum of 2 styles combined): this style is reserved for multidisciplinary dancers who are unable to make a choice and/or wish to combine 2 or more dance styles.

Experimental: this category is focused on movement and/or concept beyond style and/or technique and/or interpretation/emotion.

Battle: the battle category is open to solos only. The battle is "all styles" (so all dance styles are allowed). The choice of the "rivals" will be done by drawing lots. The winner of the battle will have the chance to perform a freestyle during our showcase.

The Reunion 2021 © TOUS DROITS RÉSERVÉS

Classification

Groupes d’âge

Calcul de l’âge

L’âge pris en considération sera celui en date du 1er janvier de l’année de la compétition. Pour les groupes; l’âge est déterminé par la moyenne des danseurs du groupe. Par exemple : Âge d’un danseur ou moyenne du groupe 12,51 ans = 13 ans et 13,49 = 13 ans

  • 6-9 ans
  • 10-12 ans
  • 13-15 ans
  • 16-19 ans
  • 20-29 ans
  • 30 ans et +

*Groupes d’âge sujets à être redivisés afin d’offrir un environnement de compétition équitable.

Types de groupes

  • Solo 1 personne
  • Duo/trio 2/3 personnes
  • Petit groupe 4 à 9 personnes
  • Grand groupe 10 à 15 personnes
  • Production 16 personnes et plus

*Une même formation (solo/duo/trio/petit et grand groupe) est autorisée à inscrire un seul numéro par catégorie. Pour performer dans la même catégorie, une formation doit comprendre un minimum de 50% des nouveaux danseurs.

Durée des chorégraphies

  • Solo : 1 personne – 3 minutes
  • Duo/trio : 2/3 personnes – 3 minutes
  • Petit groupe : 4 à 9 personnes – 4 minutes
  • Grand groupe : 10 à 15 personnes – 4 minutes
  • Production : 16 personnes et plus – 8 minutes

*Une différence de 5 secondes sera tolérée. La durée de chaque chorégraphie sera contrôlée et vérifiée. Des déductions au pointage s’appliqueront en cas de non-conformité.

Niveaux

Notez que ces niveaux ne sont qu’une estimation. Chaque individu ayant une progression différente, nous faisons confiance au jugement de l’entraîneur. The Reunion prône le développement sain de chaque danseur. Dans cet optique, nous nous attendons à ce que chaque participant soit dans une catégorie où il devra s’élever.

  • Novice : 1 à 2 ans d’entraînement compétitif
  • Précompétitif : 3 à 4 ans d’entraînement compétitif
  • Compétitif : 5 à 6 ans d’entraînement compétitif
  • Professionnel : 7 ans et plus ou vivant de son art

*Les professeurs et/ou danseurs professionnels doivent être inscrits dans la catégorie « Professionnel ». Aucun professionnel n’est accepté dans les catégories inférieures au niveau professionnel, tous types de groupes confondus.

Styles

Contemporain: ce style se définit par son intégration de notions telles que la gravité, la chute et la suspension, la contraction et le relâchement, l’équilibre et le déséquilibre, différentes dynamiques et qualités de mouvements, une conscience du poids du corps, le tout dans un style plus libre et organique explorant un concept, une histoire, une émotion ou une intention.

Ballet: ce style se définit par sa technique classique, la pureté de ses lignes et ses mouvements d’une grande précision. Les chorégraphies peuvent s’exécuter sur pointes ou demi-pointes.

Lyrique: ce style est un mélange des techniques de ballet classique et de jazz. Les mouvements se font en douceur et en contrôle et viennent appuyer les paroles de la musique avec une interprétation bien définie.

Jazz (Jazz, Street Jazz, Funky Jazz, Broadway Jazz…): la danse jazz combine les techniques du ballet classique et de la danse moderne avec les formes actuelles de danse populaire. Le jazz possède également son propre vocabulaire de mouvements, allant de l’isolement de certaines parties du corps au mouvement de tout le corps, avec les accents de rythmes musicaux. La danse jazz peut revêtir de nombreuses caractéristiques et styles différents, notamment le jazz de rue, le percussif, le Broadway, le contemporain et le lyrique. L’accent est mis sur l’importance de l’énergie, de la précision rythmique et le style.

Danses folkloriques/Danses du monde: les danses folkloriques s’appuient sur des danses traditionnelles d’ici et d’ailleurs telles que; la danse irlandaise, la gigue, la claquette, le baladi, la danse africaine, etc.

Street: ce style se définit par l’intégration des techniques d’une ou plusieurs des danses suivantes: hip hop, breakdance, house, waacking, popping, locking, krump, voguing, stepping, dancehall, etc.

Commercial: ce style de danse s’inspire de plusieurs autres styles et est une combinaison de la signature du chorégraphe, d’énergie et de performance.

Ballroom: ce style est une intégration des techniques d’une ou plusieurs des danses suivantes: cha cha, rumba, samba, mambo, salsa, merengue, bachata, paso doble, jive, triple-swing, west coast swing, swing, tango argentin, valse lente, quick step, valse viennoise, foxtrot, tango et hustle.

Championnat: le championnat est une catégorie ouverte à tous, tous styles confondus qui se déroule en trois rondes. Dix numéros seront sélectionnés pour prendre part au championnat (3 novices, 3 précompétitifs, 3 compétitifs et 1 professionnel) sous forme de pige au hasard, un mois avant l’événement. Les solos ne sont pas admis.

Les 2 numéros finalistes devront s’affronter dans un battle “freestyle”. La chorégraphie présentée peut changer à chaque ronde, mais il est également possible de garder la même chorégraphie. Le jury, quant à lui, sera constitué de personnes différentes à chaque ronde.

Impro: cette catégorie est réservée aux danseurs et danseuses qui veulent montrer leur personnalité via la danse de façon spontanée. Revenons à la base de la danse: s’inspirer de la musique pour créer. Peu importe le style de danse, les danseurs se verront attribuer une musique à leur entrée sur scène et devront faire une improvisation d’environ 1 minute 30.

Fusion (minimum de 2 styles combinés): ce style est réservé aux danseurs multidisciplinaires qui n’arrivent pas à faire un choix et/ou qui désirent combiner 2 styles de danse ou plus.

Expérimental: cette catégorie se veut axée sur le mouvement et/ou le concept au-delà du style et/ou de la technique et/ou de l’interprétation/émotion.

Battle: la catégorie battle est ouverte aux solos seulement. Le battle est “all styles” (donc tous les styles de danse sont permis). Le choix des ‘’rivaux’’ se fera sous forme de tirage au sort. Le gagnant du battle aura la chance de performer un freestyle lors de notre showcase.

The Reunion 2021 © TOUS DROITS RÉSERVÉS